AUTHOR : Ransom Riggs

PUBLISHER : Dutton Books

FORMAT: Paperback

PAGES : 160

ISBN : 9780399538537

 

On your first encounter with Ransom Rigg’s Miss Peregrine’s home for peculiar children series, four words immediately come to mind;

Weird. Creepy. Weird. Creepy.

Surprised that ‘horror’ hasn’t popped up? I wasn’t. Vast majority of book lovers had ‘horror-zoned’ this series because of the beautifully creepy covers, so I decided to try them out, just out of curiosity ( and because the Instagram hype was impressive).

 

 Miss peregrine’s home for peculiar children astounded me with it’s uncommon narrative, so naturally, I gravitated towards Ransom Rigg’s latest book, Tales of the Peculiar. With a truckload of expertise, Ransom broke our bubbles by not making this book a continuation of the series. He gave, one of my favorite peculiar kid, the chance to perfect his love for peculiar literature by writing in his name.

 

 Tales of the peculiar is a collection of 10 short peculiar folklore that would have been lost, were it not for the Peculiars who passed them down from generations to generations. I had set out to write a serious review but everything about this book just  makes me giggle. Not laugh, the way a youth would when reading an adult novel but laugh, like a baby would when you tickle it. Millard is quite a satirical character, so the choice to write under his name was spot-on. My favorite story would be erm… all of them except for the last one. Each story taught different lessons, while touching topics that are quite sensitive in our present day society. You don’t need an Einstein IQ to realize how much Ransom empowered women/girls with some stories. The mere fact that the first Ymbryne was responsible for the safe existence of Peculiar bloodline till this day, is empowerment enough.

 

Even the romance was moderate. Nothing too cliche and unrealistic. When the fork-tongued princess came to the conclusion that she doesn’t need male acceptance to groom self-love, I wanted to tear out that page, paste it to my forehead and show every woman/girl who has ever belittled themselves because some men couldn’t see past their flaws. That’s another win for this book.

‘It is not by size’ should be a very common bookish phrase. Ransom packed a whole lot of sense in a book that is just 160 pages long. I mean, re-reading this book just got so easy!

Let’s not forget to mention the illustrations! Mahn! It’s like reading a co-prose (comic+prose). It’s not a word, I invented it.

 

Cons…….  

I know I’m supposed to state the few things I found off about the book but I cant seem to come up with any. It scored really high on my list of ‘expectations when I buy a book’:

  •  Peng Cover = Check
  • Lovely smell = Check
  • Good Narrative = Double Check
  • Illustration = amazing Check
  • Moderate number of pages = Check
  • In-built bookmark = Dope check

 

I could continue with my blabs but they will all converge at one thing; this book is a 5/5 for me.

 

PS: If you happen to be a FUNAAB student who might be interested in reading this book, you can contact me via email, hennyhola20@yahoo.com or Instagram (@thatothernigeriangirl), I would gladly lend you the book so far you fulfill all the bookish requirements.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

